NMU Introduces 2019 NMU Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

NMU Introduces 2019 NMU Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University Athletics Department is proud to announce the newest inductees to the 2019 NMU Sports Hall of Fame. 

Being inducted to the NMU Sports Hall of Fame includes Pentti Joronen, Tim Schultz, Scott Sible, Lisa Tomcheck (Goodman), Julie Wonders (Heldt) and the 2006-07 Women's Nordic Ski team. 

The induction celebration will take place in the Northern Center Ballroom on Friday, September 20.  The social begins at 6 p.m. with the dinner and induction following at 7 p.m. Tickets for the event are $25 and are available through the NMU Ticket Office at 906-227-1032. The induction ceremony can be viewed using this link.

Pentti Joronen

Nordic Ski | Class of 1981
Pentti Joronen was a 4-time NCAA All-American and four year letter winner in Nordic skiing. He finished in third place at the NCAA championships in both 1980 and 1981, and in sixth place in both 1978 and 1979. Pentti also finished sixth in the American Birkibeiner with over 8000 participants. 

Tim Schultz

Wrestling | Class of 1983
Tim Schultz wrestled for four seasons as a Wildcat, earning a letter in each of those four years. He was a three-time National Qualifier, finishing third at the NCAA championships in 1982 and earning All- American status. Tim finished his career with 102 wins which ranks sixth in NMU wrestling history and went on to coach Marquette Senior High School wrestling for 11 years. 

Scott Sible

Football | Class of 1983
Scott Sible was a four-year letter winner with the Wildcat football team and led the nation in receiving yards (1,219) in 1979. He was named team captain in 1981 and went on to play as a free agent with the Green Bay Packers (NFL) in 1982. Scott continued his play with the CFL after his year with the Packers.

Lisa Tomsheck (Goodman)

Swimming | Class of 1985
Lisa Tomsheck (Goodman) spent four seasons, 1981 to 1985, as a diver with the NMU swim and dive team. She gained All-American status in both the 1 and 3 meter boards during each season. Lisa finished second in the nation as a junior and was crowned National Champion as a senior. 

Julie Wonders (Heldt)

Basketball | Class of 1994
Julie Wonders (Heldt) played two seasons with the Wildcat women's basketball team and left an impressive mark in the record books in just two seasons. She holds the record for career points per game (21.1), most points in a season (715), season points per game (25.5), and free throws made in a game (18). In 1991-92, Julie was named team Newcomer of the Year, Second Team All-GLIAC, and NCAA Regional Tournament MVP. In 1992-93, Julie earned GLIAC Player of the Year and team MVP.

2007 Women's Nordic Ski Team

At the 2007 NCAA Ski Championships the NMU women's ski team made history as they became the first team to ever sweep the podium in both of the Nordic events. In the 5 km freestyle race Lindsey Williams was the National Champion as she finished ahead of teammate Morgan Smyth (2nd) and Lindsey Weier (3rd). In The 15 km classic race Lindsey Weier was crowned National Champion followed by Lindsay Williams (2nd) and Morgan Smyth (3rd). Members of the 2006-07 Women's Nordic Ski team include:

Kelly Ahern 

Heather Bassett 

Anna Berglund 

Tanya Cook 

Laura Dewitt 

Ingrid Fjeldheim 

Maria Grossi 

Morgan Smyth 

Maria Stuber 

Christina Gillis 

Lindsey Dehlin (Weier) 

Lindsay Williams 

Jennifer Wygant 

Sten Fjeldheim (HC) 

Jenny Ryan (AC)