Northern Michigan University Athletic Council

The Northern Michigan University Athletic Council is advisory to the President of the University on matters pertaining to intercollegiate athletics.  Final authority on changes of policy governing operation of the intercollegiate athletic program rests with the President.

Athletic Council Chair

The chair of the Northern Michigan university Athletic Council is Julie Rochester.  Julie is an Associate Professor in the Health Physical, Education, Recreation Department and has been appointed by the President to be the Faculty Athletic Representative. FAR Handbook FARA Web site

Members

 

 

Appointed Member/Position

Name

Department/Office

Phone/Email

Term

1

Chair (FAR)

Julie Rochester

School of HHP,
PEIF 237

906 235-5713

jrochest@nmu.edu

2019-2020

2

Faculty

Derek Anderson

School of Education,
213 Whitman

227-1873

dereande@nmu.edu

2019-2022

3

Faculty

Carol Johnson

College of Business,
301 Cohodas

227-1239

carjohns@nmu.edu

2017-2020

4

Faculty

Sebastien Inagaki

Chemistry Dept.
WSTN 3135,

227-2889

sinagaki@nmu.edu

2018-2021

5

Faculty

Sheena Ketchum

Sociology & Anthropology
2411 JXJ Hall

227-2030

sketchum@nmu.edu

2017-2020

6

Faculty

Randy Appleton

Math & Comp. Science
2214 JXJ Hall

361-1983

joshthom@nmu.edu

2018-2021

7

At-Large

Brandon Sager

Engineering & Planning

136 Services Bldg.

227-1446

brsager@nmu.edu

2017-2020

8

At-Large

Jim Gadzinski

ACAC

3302 Hedgcock

227-2971

jgadzins@nmu.edu

2019-2022

9

At-Large

Jon Teichman

Admissions

2212 Hedgcock

227-2650

jteichma@nmu.edu

2017-2020

10

At-Large

Brian Syrjala

Alumnus

228-8996 

bsyrjala@rangebank.com

2018-2021

11

Student-Athlete

Amber Huebner

SAAC (Women’s Basketball)

amanitow@nmu.edu

2019-2020

12

Student-Athlete

Sarah Kuehn

SAAC (Volleyball)

skuehn@nmu.edu

2019-2020

13

Ex-Officio

AD

Forrest Karr

Director of Athletics

1826 Superior Dome

227-1826

fkarr@nmu.edu

 

14

Ex-Officio

SWA

Bridget Berube

Assoc. Director of Athletics

2371 Superior Dome

227-2371

brberube@nmu.edu

 

15

Ex-Officio

Compliance

Kate Hagenbuch

Asst. Director of Athletics
for Compliance,
109 Superior Dome,

227-2939

khagenbu@nmu.edu

 

16

Ex-Officio

Financial Aid

Mike Rotundo

Director of Financial Aid

2107 Hedgcock

227-1575

mrotundo@nmu.edu

 

17

Ex-Officio

Registrar

Angela Maki**

Registrar’s Office

2202 Hedgcock

227-1438

anmaki@nmu.edu

 

18

Ex-Officio

Head Coach

Mike Lozier

Head Coach (VB)

Izzo-Mariucci Room

586 567-0570

mlozier@nmu.edu

2019-2020

**Designee for Registrar – Kim Rotundo

 

Committees 

1. Committee on Compliance: Julie Rochester, Forrest Karr, Mike Rotundo, Jon Teichman, Mike Truscott

2. Executive/Budget Committee: Julie Rochester, Forrest Kar, Bridget Kyle, and three counsel members: Derek Anderson, Mike Truscott, Brandon Sager. 

3. Committee on Sportsmanship: Forrest Karr, three counsel members: Kevin McDonough, Mike Truscott, Shelley Russell; and two head coaches: Bill Sall, Sonia Basma

Documents

By-laws and Policies/Procedures       

Student-Athlete Scholar of the Month

The Athletic Council names a Student-Athletes Scholar of the Month during each month of the academic year.

Student-athletes are nominated by a Northern Michigan University faculty member and chosen by the Athletic Council.